Attitude to A Miss

Attitude to A Miss
By Vladimir Mayakovsky
That night was to decide
if she and I
were to be lovers.
Under cover
of darkness
no one would see, you see.
I bent over her, it’s the truth,
and as I did,
it’s the truth, I swear it,
I said
like a kindly parent:
“Passion’s a precipice –
so won’t you please
move away?
Move away,

Analysis:
From the title, I see that this poem tells us about a man who wants to show his attitude when he meet a girl. ‘Miss’ in the title means girl, I guess. If I glance over, the meaning of the poem is easy to understand. However, it is hard. Actually, the poet uses the simple phrases but some phrases are unfamiliar. Like “passion’s a precipice”, I can’t guess what the meaning is. I think that is defamiliarization concept. Vladimir Mayakovsky is one of the Russian formalists, so he creates a poem base on Russian formalism technique, I guess. One of the techniques is defamiliarization. Besides, the meaning of phrase ‘move away’ and ‘Move away’ is different, I think. ‘move away’ means go out and never come back, ‘Move away’, means died or go to hell.

One thought on “Attitude to A Miss

  1. effective article marketing January 29, 2011 at 1:19 pm Reply

    Despite the general opinion, there are solutions and workarounds to it. With this post you gave the perfect example that it can be carried out. Maybe this will get people to pay attention.

Leave a Reply

